Minutes of an Inaugural Council Meeting held in the City Hall Council Chambers, Courtenay B.C., on Monday, December 5, 2011 at 4:00 p.m.

Attending:

Mayor: L. V. Jangula Councillors: J. K. Ambler

B. F. Anglin D. A. Hillian R-R. Leonard M. Theos

S. L. Winchester

Staff: S.T. Gray, Administrator

J. Ward, Manager of Corporate Administration

T. Manthey, Director of Financial Services R. Wiwchar, Director of Community Services A. Hampshire, Deputy Approving Officer L. Pedersen, Manager of Human Resources

K. MacDonald, Deputy Fire Chief S. Karvalics, Executive Assistant G. Usher, Bylaw Enforcement Officer A. Gornall, Climate Action Analyst

Mayor Jangula presented his Inaugural Address.

MINUTES Moved by Leonard and seconded by Hillian that the minutes of

the Regular Council meeting held November 21, 2011 be adopted.

Carried

3.00 CITY APPOINTMENTS

Moved by Winchester and seconded by Anglin that the following City of Courtenay appointments be made for the period December 5, 2011 to December 2014:

Comox Valley Regional District

Regional District Board of Directors: Councillor Theos, Councillor Ambler, Councillor Winchester

Alternate Regional District Directors in the following order:

#1 Councillor Leonard, #2 Councillor Hillian, #3 Councillor Anglin

Voting Strength for City Directors on Regional District Board: Councillor Theos 5 votes, Councillor Ambler 5 votes, Councillor Winchester 5 votes

Three Directors to Regional District Sewage Commission (3 Directors elected to Regional Board to serve): Councillor Theos, Councillor Ambler, Councillor Winchester (Councillor Leonard alternate)

Three Directors to Comox Valley Water Committee (3 Directors elected to Regional Board to serve): Councillor Theos, Councillor Ambler, Councillor Winchester (Councillor Anglin alternate)

Comox Valley Housing Task Force: Councillor Leonard

<u>Court of Revision</u> (Frontage Taxes): Councillors Theos, Ambler, Winchester (alternate Councillor Anglin)

<u>Heritage Advisory Commission</u>: Lawrence Burns (Chair), Maude Hobson (Vice Chair), Dorothy Levett, Julie Fortin, Judy Hagen, Roberts Smith, Linda Grant, Harry Squire, Cliffe Piercy, Debra Griffiths

Board of Variance: Jim Odo, John Wilson, Mike Meyer

<u>Comox Valley Economic Development Society</u>: Councillor Anglin (alternate Mayor Jangula)

<u>Comox Valley Community Justice Society</u>: Councillor Hillian (Councillor Ambler alternate)

Puntledge River Restoration Committee: Roy Fussell

Sid Williams Theatre Society: Nicole Deters

Drug Strategy Committee: Councillor Hillian

Comox Valley Environmental Council: Councillor Hillian

<u>Comox Valley Harbour Authority:</u> John Ward, Manager of Corporate Administration

<u>Comox Valley Cycling Task Force:</u> Councillor Leonard (alternate Councillor Anglin)

<u>Agricultural Land Review Committee:</u> Andrea Burch, John Grayson, George Hamilton, Sandra Mark, Gerry McClintock, Wendy Prothero

<u>Public Safety Building Committee:</u> Councillor Ambler (alternate Mayor Jangula);

R31/2011 – December 5, 2011

That Councillor Leonard be appointed to the <u>Vancouver Island</u> <u>Regional Library Board</u> for January 1 to December 31, 2012 with Councillor Theos as alternate:

SCHEDULE OF ACTING MAYORS That Council adopt the following monthly schedule of Acting Mayors for the period December 5, 2011 to December 1, 2014

June and December

May and November

March and September

April and October

July and August

January and February

Councillor Theos

Councillor Ambler

Councillor Hillian

Councillor Leonard

Councillor Anglin

Councillor Winchester

SIGNING AUTHORITY

That the following individuals be authorized as signing authorities for the City of Courtenay:

Larry Jangula – Mayor Douglas Hillian – Councillor Starr Winchester – Councillor Emmanuel Theos – Councillor Ronna-Rae Leonard – Councillor Bill Anglin – Councillor Jon Ambler – Councillor

Sandy Gray – Administrator
Mathilda Manthey – Director of Financial Services
John Ward – Manager of Corporate Administration
Jennifer Nelson - Manager of Financial Planning
Candice Hilton – Manager of Finance
Kevin Lagan – Director of Operational Services
Randy Wiwchar – Director of Community Services
Peter Crawford – Director of Planning Services

Carried

4.00 ADJOURNMENT

.01	Moved by Winchester and seconded by Hillian that the meetin now adjourn at 4:15 p.m. Carried
	CERTIFIED CORRECT
	Manager of Corporate Administration
	Adopted this 12 th day of December, 2011
	Mayor