Minutes of an Inaugural Council Meeting held in the City Hall Council Chambers, Courtenay B.C., on Monday, December 1, 2014 at 4:00 p.m.

Attending:	
Mayor:	Larry Jangula
Councillors:	Erik Eriksson
	David Frisch
	Doug Hillian
	Rebecca Lennox
	Manno Theos
	Bob Wells
Staff:	David Allen, CAO
	John Ward, Director of Legislative Services
	Randy Wiwchar, Director of Community Services
	Peter Crawford, Director of Development Services
	Lesley Hatch, Director of Engineering Services
	D. Bardonnex, Fire Chief
	S. Karvalics, Executive Assistant

John Ward, Corporate Officer administered the Oath of Office for the incoming Mayor and Councillors.

Mayor Jangula presented his Inaugural Address.

MINUTES

Moved by Hillian and seconded by Theos that the minutes of the Regular Council meeting held November 17, 2014 be adopted. **Carried**

3.00 CITY APPOINTMENTS

Moved by Theos and seconded by Wells that Council make the following City of Courtenay appointments for the period December 1, 2014 to November 2016:

Comox Valley Regional District

Regional District Board of Directors:

Mayor Larry Jangula Councillor Manno Theos Councillor Bob Wells Councillor Erik Eriksson

Alternate Regional District Directors:

Councillor David Frisch Councillor Doug Hillian Councillor Rebecca Lennox **Voting Strength for City Directors on Regional District Board** (City has seventeen votes):

Mayor Larry Jangula – 5 votes Councillor Manno Theos – 4 votes Councillor Bob Wells – 4 votes Councillor Erik Eriksson – 4 votes

Three Directors to Regional District Sewage Commission (Three Directors elected to Regional Board to serve):

Councillor Manno Theos Councillor Bob Wells Councillor Erik Eriksson

Alternates: Mayor Larry Jangula, Councillor Doug Hillian, Councillor David Frisch, Councillor Rebecca Lennox

Four Directors to Comox Valley Water Committee (Four Directors elected to Regional Board to serve):

Mayor Larry Jangula Councillor Manno Theos Councillor Bob Wells Councillor Erik Eriksson

Alternates: Councillor Doug Hillian, Councillor David Frisch, Councillor Rebecca Lennox

<u>Court of Revision</u> (Frontage Taxes): Councillor David Frisch, Councillor Rebecca Lennox, Councillor Erik Eriksson (alternate: Councillor Bob Wells)

<u>Heritage Advisory Commission</u>: Lawrence Burns, Julie Fortin, Judy Hagen, Roberts Smith, Linda Grant, Harry Squire, Cliffe Piercy, Debra Griffiths

Board of Variance: Joe Schommer, John Wilson, Mike Meyer

<u>Comox Valley Economic Development Society</u>: Mayor Larry Jangula (*alternate: Bob Wells*)

<u>Comox Valley Community Justice Society</u>: Councillor Doug Hillian (alternate: Councillor David Frisch)

R31/2014 - December 1, 2014

Downtown Courtenay Business Improvement Association: Councillor David Frisch

Puntledge River Restoration Committee: Roy Fussell

Sid Williams Theatre Society: Neil Havers, Heather McFetridge

Drug Strategy Committee: Councillor Doug Hillian

Comox Valley Environmental Council: Councillor Rebecca Lennox

Comox Valley Social Planning Society: Councillor Doug Hillian

<u>Comox Valley Harbour Authority</u>: John Ward, Director of Legislative Services

Integrated Transportation Advisory Committee: Councillor David Frisch (*alternate: Councillor Rebecca Lennox*)

<u>Agricultural Land Review Committee:</u> Andrea Burch, John Grayson, George Hamilton, Gerry McClintock, Wendy Prothero

<u>2015 Centennial Committee:</u> Councillor Doug Hillian, Starr Winchester

Subsidiary Motion

Moved by Hillian and seconded by Lennox that the Comox Valley Regional District appointments be effective until November 30, 2015. **Carried with Councillors Theos and Wells, and Mayor Jangula opposed The main motion as amended was carried unanimously**

4.00 VANCOUVER ISLAND REGIONAL LIBRARY BOARD

V.I. REGIONAL Moved by Wells and seconded by Theos that Councillor Rebecca LIBRARY BOARD Lennox be appointed to the Vancouver Island Regional Library Board for a one year appointment January 1 to December 31, 2015 with Councillor Manno Theos as alternate. Carried

R31/2014 – December 1, 2014

5.00 SCHEDULE OF ACTING MAYORS

SCHEDULE OF	That Council adopt the following monthly schedule of Acting Mayors for
ACTING MAYORS	the period December 1, 2014 to November 30, 2016 pursuant to Council
	Procedure Bylaw No. 2730, 2013:

June and December May and November March and September April and October January and August February and July Councillor Theos Councillor Frisch Councillor Hillian Councillor Wells Councillor Lennox Councillor Eriksson

6.00 SIGNING AUTHORITIES

SIGNING AUTHORITY Moved by Theos and seconded by Wells that the following individuals be authorized as signing authorities for the City of Courtenay:

Larry Jangula – Mayor David Frisch – Councillor Rebecca Lennox – Councillor Emmanuel Theos – Councillor Bob Wells – Councillor Doug Hillian – Councillor Erik Eriksson – Councillor

David Allen – Chief Administrative Officer Mathilda Manthey – Director of Financial Services/Deputy CAO John Ward – Director of Legislative Services Jennifer Nelson - Manager of Financial Planning Lesley Hatch – Director of Engineering and Public Works Randy Wiwchar – Director of Community Services Peter Crawford – Director of Development Services Candice Hilton – Manager of Finance

Carried

7.00 EXTERNAL COMMUNICATION FOR INFORMATION

CVRD BOARD ORIENTATION 470-20 Moved by Hillian and seconded by Frisch that the Notice of Inaugural CVRD Board Meeting and Orientation be received for information. Carried

8.00 ADJOURNMENT

.01

Moved by Hillian and seconded by Theos that the meeting now adjourn at 4:30 p.m. **Carried**

CERTIFIED CORRECT

Director of Legislative Services

Adopted this 15th day of December, 2014

Mayor