Minutes of an Inaugural Council Meeting held in the City Hall Council Chambers, Courtenay B.C., on Monday, November 05, 2018 at 4:00 p.m.

Attending:

Mayor: B. Wells

Councillors: W. Cole-Hamilton

D. Frisch
D. Hillian
M. McCollum
W. Morin
M. Theos

Staff: D. Allen, CAO

J. Ward, Director of Legislative and Corporate Services/Deputy CAO W. Sorichta, Manager of Legislative & Corporate Administrative Services

I. Buck, Director of Development Services T. Kushner, Director of Public Works Services

J. Nelson, Director of Financial Services

R. O'Grady, Director of Engineering Services

D. Snider, Director of Recreation and Cultural Services

D. Bardonnex, Fire Chief

A. Guillo, Manager of Communications

Chief Nicole Rempel, K'omoks First Nation, delivered a welcoming address and opening remarks to Mayor, Council, staff and the public.

John Ward, Corporate Officer, administered the Oath of Office for the incoming Mayor and Councillors.

1.00 INAUGURAL ADDRESS

.01 Mayor Wells presented his Inaugural Address

INAUGURAL ADDRESS

2.00 CALL MEETING TO ORDER

3.00 MOTION TO ADOPT APPOINTMENTS

.01 Moved by Hillian and seconded by Frisch that Council make the

APPOINTMENTS following City of Courtenay appointments for the period of

0360-01 / 0550-01 November 05, 2018 to November 2019.

Comox Valley Regional District

Regional District Board of Directors:

Mayor Bob Wells Councillor David Frisch Councillor Wendy Morin Councillor Doug Hillian

Alternate Regional District Directors:

Councillor Will Cole-Hamilton Councillor Manno Theos Councillor Melanie McCollum

Voting Strength for City Directors on Regional District Board (City has eighteen votes):

Mayor Bob Wells4 votesCouncillor Doug Hillian5 votesCouncillor David Frisch5 votesCouncillor Wendy Morin4 votes

Three Directors to Regional District Sewage Commission (Three Directors elected to Regional Board to serve):

Councillor David Frisch Councillor Wendy Morin Councillor Doug Hillian

Alternates: Mayor Bob Wells, Councillor Will Cole Hamilton, Councillor Melanie McCollum and Councillor Manno Theos

Four Directors to Comox Valley Water Committee (Four Directors elected to Regional Board to serve):

Mayor Bob Wells	1 vote
Councillor Doug Hillian	2 votes
Councillor Wendy Morin	2 votes
Councillor David Frisch	2 votes

Alternates: Councillor Will Cole-Hamilton, Councillor Melanie McCollum and Councillor Manno Theos

Directors or Alternates to attend Comox Strathcona Regional Hospital District Board

Mayor Bob Wells Councillor David Frisch Councillor Doug Hillian Councillor Will Cole-Hamilton

Alternates: Councillor Melanie McCollum, Councillor Wendy Morin and Councillor Manno Theos

Directors or Alternates to attend Comox Strathcona Waste Management Board

Mayor Bob Wells Councillor David Frisch Councillor Doug Hillian Councillor Will Cole-Hamilton

Alternates: Councillor Melanie McCollum, Councillor Wendy Morin and Councillor Manno Theos

Court of Revision (Frontage Taxes):

Councillor Wendy Morin Councillor Will Cole-Hamilton Councillor Melanie McCollum

Alternate: Councillor Manno Theos

Board of Variance: On Hold - Requires Staff Report

Comox Valley Economic Development Society:

Councillor Melanie McCollum

Alternate: Councillor David Frisch

Comox Valley Community Justice Society:

Councillor Doug Hillian

Alternate: Councillor Melanie McCollum

Downtown Courtenay Business Improvement Association:

Councillor Will Cole-Hamilton

Alternate: Councillor Wendy Morin

<u>Community Drug Strategy Committee and Overdose Working Group)</u>:

Councillor Will Cole-Hamilton

Alternate: Councillor Doug Hillian

Comox Valley Social Planning Society:

Councillor Wendy Morin

Alternate: Councillor Doug Hillian

Comox Valley Harbour Authority:

John Ward, Director of Legislative and Corporate Services/Deputy CAO

<u>Comox Valley Liquid Waste Management Plan (LWMP) Public Advisory Committee (PAC):</u>

Councillor Will Cole-Hamilton

(Staff Note: Councillor David Frisch appointed as alternate for the duration of the LWMP planning process per July 16, 2018 Council resolution).

Development Industry Working Group:

Mayor Bob Wells

(Staff Note: Councillor David Frisch appointed for a 1 year term per June 18, 2018 Council resolution).

Integrated Transportation Advisory Committee:

Councillor David Frisch

Alternate: Councillor Melanie McCollum

Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission:

Councillor Manno Theos

Alternate: Councillor Wendy Morin

Agricultural Land Review Committee: On Hold - Requires Research,

Heritage Advisory Commission:

Lawrence Burns, Ross Dingwall, Julie Fortin, Linda Grant, Deb Griffiths, Judy Hagen, Andrew Ireson, Cliff Piercy

Sid Williams Theatre Society:

Darryl Calnan, Heather McFetridge, Marty Douglas, Neil Havers, Tansy Pauls, Bill Anglin, Brian Mather, Naz Dizai

AD HOC COMMITTEES:

Comox Valley Coalition to End Homelessness

Councillor Doug Hillian

Alternate: Councillor Will-Cole Hamilton

Kus-kus-sum Restoration Project

Councillor Doug Hillian

Alternate: Councillor Wendy Morin

Comox Valley Accessibility Committee

Councillor David Frisch

Alternate: Councillor Doug Hillian

Comox Valley Early Years Collaborative

Councillor Melanie McCollum

Alternate: Councillor David Frisch

July 1st Organizing Team

Councillor Manno Theos

Carried

4.00 VANCOUVER ISLAND REGIONAL LIBRARY BOARD

01.VANCOUVER ISLAND
REGIONAL LIBRARY
BOARD
7960-02

Moved by Frisch and seconded by Hillian that Councillor Manno Theos be appointed to the Vancouver Island Regional Library Board for a one year appointment, January 01 to December 31, 2019, with Councillor Melanie McCollum as alternate.

Carried

5.00 SCHEDULE OF ACTING MAYORS

SCHEDULE OF ACTING MAYORS

Moved by Frisch and seconded by McCollum that Council adopt the following monthly schedule of Acting Mayors for the period November 05, 2018 to November 30, 2020 pursuant to *Council Procedure Bylaw No. 2730, 2013:*

June and December

May and November

March and September

April and October

February and August

January and July

Councillor Manno Theos

Councillor David Frisch

Councillor Doug Hillian

Councillor Will Cole-Hamilton

Councillor Melanie McCollum

Councillor Wendy Morin

Carried

6.00 SIGNING AUTHORITIES

SIGNING AUTHORITY 1940-01 Moved by Hillian and seconded by Frisch that the following individuals be authorized as signing authorities for the City of Courtenay:

Robert Wells - Mayor
William Cole-Hamilton - Councillor
David Frisch - Councillor
Douglas Hillian - Councillor
Melanie McCollum - Councillor
Wendy Morin - Councillor
Emmanuel Theos- Councillor

David Allen - Chief Administrative Officer
John Ward - Director of Legislative & Corporate Services/Deputy
CAO
Jennifer Nelson - Acting Director of Finance

Renata Wyka - Manager of Finance

Carried

7.00 STAFF REPORTS / PRESENTATIONS

.012018 ELECTION
RESULTS
4200-07

Moved by Frisch and seconded by Theos that Council postpone consideration and receipt of the November 5th, 2018 staff report, "2018 Election Results", until the November 19th, 2018 Regular Council meeting.

Carried

R21/2018 - November 05, 2018

.02 Moved by Hillian and seconded by Frisch that Council proceed with signing the Council Code of Conduct. CODE OF Carried CONDUCT 0530-03 **8.00 EXTERNAL COMMUNICATION FOR INFORMATION** Moved by Frisch and seconded by Theos that the October 2nd, .01 2018 communication, Notice of Inaugural Comox Valley Regional COMOX VALLEY District (CVRD) Board Meeting and Orientation, be received for REGIONAL DISTRICT information. (CVRD) INAUGURAL Carried **BOARD MEETING** ORIENTATION 470-20 9.00 **ADJOURNMENT** .01 Moved by Hillian and seconded by Theos that the meeting now adjourn at 4:19 p.m. Carried **CERTIFIED CORRECT Corporate Officer** Adopted this 19th day of November, 2018

Mayor