logo



News

Tuesday, April 22, 2014:

School District 71 (Comox Valley) donates parkland to City

An ecologically sensitive 5.53 hectare property, behind G.P. Vanier Secondary School, has been donated by the school district to the City of Courtenay.

Wednesday, April 16, 2014:

Day of Mourning Ceremony, Monday April 28

On Monday, April 28 at 10:00 am, attend this flag-raising ceremony at Simms Park in Courtenay in honour of fallen workers.

Tuesday, April 15, 2014:

Facility Closures on Easter Statutory Holidays

On Good Friday, April 18 and Easter Monday, April 21, City facilities will be closed.

Monday, April 14, 2014:

Citizen Budget Online Survey

The City of Courtenay has launched a new online survey tool for citizens to provide feedback on Courtenay’s budget.

Friday, April 11, 2014:

April 11, 2014 Statement on Maple Pool Case

Courtenay City Council has reviewed the recent court judgment regarding the Maple Pool Campground.

Thursday, April 10, 2014:

Residential Recycling Expanding in the City of Courtenay

Starting May 19, residents can put new items in their Blue Box for collection.

Wednesday, April 09, 2014:

Work on Fitzgerald Road Improvements Starting

After being postponed over the winter, the Fitzgerald Avenue road improvement project is now ready to roll.

Wednesday, April 09, 2014:

City of Courtenay 2014 to 2018 Financial Plan

The proposed 2014 to 2018 Financial Plan for the City of Courtenay is available for viewing online.

Tuesday, April 08, 2014:

Springtime Promenade, Saturday April 19

Children 1 to 6 years with adult are invited to this popular annual event at Simms Park. Register early, space is limited!

Friday, March 28, 2014:

Lewis Wellness Centre Now Open at 5:00 am weekdays

If you enjoy working out as the sun is rising, Courtenay Recreation is the place for you.

Thursday, March 27, 2014:

Traffic Safety: Stay Safe On Our Roads When March Break Ends

Review these tips from ICBC for drivers, parents, and students, to keep children safe on our roads.

Thursday, March 20, 2014:

Bring Back Play FUNmobile coming to Lewis Centre

The ParticipACTION FUNmobile will be visiting The Lewis Centre on Saturday March 29 from 11:00am-2:00pm.

Thursday, March 20, 2014:

Family Drop-In at The LINC Youth Centre

On Saturday March 22 and March 29 from 12 to 3 pm, bring the whole family and try out fun activities at Courtenay's popular youth centre.

Tuesday, March 18, 2014:

Maple Pool Court Judgment

A statement on the recent Supreme Court of British Columbia ruling.

Tuesday, March 18, 2014:

Temporary Detour at Lewis Park Walkway

A section of the popular Lewis Park river walkway, behind the Memorial Outdoor Pool, will require a short detour between March 24 and April 1.

Friday, February 28, 2014:

Attention Students: City of Courtenay Bursary Available

Look to your future! You may be eligible for a bursary from the City of Courtenay.

Friday, February 28, 2014:

Registration for Spring Programs at Courtenay Recreation starts March 5

Starting Wednesday, March 5, 2014, registration begins for a variety of programs that will interest each member of your household.

Friday, February 28, 2014:

Utility Box Painting Enlivens the Rotary Trail

Some utility boxes along the Rotary Trail in Courtenay got a fresh new look this past fall thanks to the work of local artists.

Monday, February 24, 2014:

Committee of the Whole meeting is cancelled

The Committee of the Whole meeting originally scheduled for Monday, February 24, 2014 has been cancelled due to snow.

Monday, February 24, 2014:

Snow Removal in the City

Wondering about the City's snow removal policy?

Friday, February 07, 2014:

Heritage Faire: Saturday, February 15, 2014

Take a trip into the Comox Valley’s past at the Heritage Faire in Cumberland! Enjoy displays, tours, workshops, and entertainment.

Tuesday, February 04, 2014:

Courtenay Playgrounds Receiving Upgrades

Good news for families with kids: three popular Courtenay playgrounds will be renewed and improved this winter.

Monday, February 03, 2014:

Family Day Facility Closures

On Monday, February 10, most City facilities will be closed for the Family Day statutory holiday. The Lewis Centre and The LINC Youth Centre will be open for part of the day for activities, including the Wellness Centre and squash, plus special Family Day events.

Tuesday, January 28, 2014:

Call for Projects: CV Community Carbon Marketplace

Has your organization or business taken steps to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, or does it have plans to do so? A new program could help you generate revenue and showcase your initiatives.

Tuesday, January 28, 2014:

Annual Spring Playing Field Users Meeting

On Wednesday, February 12 at 7:00 pm, users of City and SD71 playing fields in Courtenay are invited to attend this meeting at the Courtenay Recreation Lewis Centre.

Wednesday, January 22, 2014:

5th Street and Menzies Avenue Project Completion Update

Upgrades to the 5th Street and 4th Street intersection at Menzies Avenue are nearly complete. Learn more about the project highlights and work to come in Spring 2014.

Thursday, December 19, 2013:

City of Courtenay part of new Inter-Community Business Licence Program

Doing business on Central Vancouver Island just got easier, thanks to a new Mobile Business Licence agreement.

Tuesday, December 17, 2013:

Funding Application Extension Granted for Fitzgerald Bike Lanes

The Province of B.C. has granted an extension on the funding application deadline for the Fitzgerald Avenue road improvement project.

Monday, December 09, 2013:

Glow as you Go Program hits the Comox Valley

The Comox Valley Cycling Task Force has partnered with the Comox Valley Cycling Coalition to distribute free lights for cyclists and reflectors for pedestrians to low income individuals and families in the Comox Valley.

Friday, December 06, 2013:

Fitzgerald Avenue Bike Lanes Postponed Until Spring 2014

The weather conditions have resulted in a delay of planned Fitzgerald Avenue road improvements.

 
City of Courtenay, 830 Cliffe Avenue, Courtenay, B.C. V9N 2J7 Tel.(250) 334-4441 Fax. (250) 334-4241

Copyright © City of Courtenay